Filipino Pride Dennis Orcollo grab his first ever WPA’s 2011 8-Ball Title


Orcollo and Alcaide on Finals

Orcollo and Alcaide on Finals

After snagging different titles from several billiard competitions including World Pool League, World Pool Masters, Derby City Classic, US Bar Table, Billiards Congress of America, Orcollo snatched the crown over 2010 8-ball champion Karl Boyes from United Kingdom this year, with the take home money worth $40,000. WPA World 8-Ball Championship is the annual World 8-Ball Championship organized by the World Pool-Billiard Association (WPA). The 2011 event is held at Fujairah, United Arab Emirates from February 19 to 26, 2011.

”At last, I already won a WPA title. This is my dream,” said Orcollo, who defeated against the 2010 runner up Neils Feijen of Netherlands, 10-3 in the final round.

Orcollo who is almost leading the game with 5-0, allowed Feijen to score the next 3 round by a scratch in the side pocket in Game 6, giving score of 5-3. But the Filipino pride heated up again as he smashed scores on pocket in Game 9 and the entire 5 sets, grabbing his victory demolishing a total of 116 players from all of the WPA’s six regions who participated.

Feijen received $ 25,000 for his runner up spot and David Alcaide of Spain who won over United Kingdom’s, Darren Appleton, 9-2, accepted a satisfying amount of $14,000.

Appleton who is on fourth place, bagged a total price of $10,000.

Dennis Orcollo is now in lined with the list of other Philippines Billiard titlist, along with WPA World 8-ball Champions, Ronato Alcano(2007) and Efren Reyes(2004) who also won PBT-Professional Billiards Tournament for the years of 1995, 1996 and 2000.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>