Comelec proclaims Osmeña, Lapid, Guingona

MANILA, Philippines – The Commission on Elections, sitting as the National Board of Canvassers, on Tuesday proclaimed Sergio Osmeña III (independent), Manuel “Lito” Lapid (Lakas-Kampi CMD) and Teofisto Guingona III (Liberal Party) as senators until 2016.

Comelec Chairman Jose Melo said the poll body decided to proclaim the 3 bets since the remaining votes to be counted “would no longer materially affect the outcome of the election.”

Comelec Commissioner Gregorio Larrazabal earlier said the poll body had less than 500,000 votes left to canvass.

The proclamation was held at the Comelec main office in Intramuros, Manila.

Last Saturday, the NBoC proclaimed the first nine winning senators who will serve until 2016 namely; Sen. Ramon “Bong” Revilla, Jr. (Lakas-Kampi CMD); Sen. “Jinggoy” Estrada (Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino); Sen. Miriam Defensor-Santiago (People’s Reform Party); former Senate President Franklin Drilon (Liberal Party); Senate President Juan Ponce Enrile (Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino); Sen. Pia Cayetano (Nacionalista Party); Rep. Ferdinand “Bongbong” Marcos Jr. (Nacionalista Party); former senator Ralph Recto (Liberal Party); and former senator Vicente “Tito” Sotto III (Nationalist People’s Coalition).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>