And then there were 8 presidential candidates

MANILA, Philippines—Eight, 8 and 158.

These are the numbers of certificates of candidacy (CoCs) for president, vice president and senator, respectively, that the Commission on Elections (Comelec) has initially approved for the national elections in May.

These figures were trimmed from the 99 presidential aspirants, 20 vice presidential hopefuls and 158 senatorial wannabes who filed CoCs from Nov. 20 to Dec. 1.

Comelec Chair Jose Melo Tuesday identified those running for president as follows: Sen. Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III (Liberal Party), JC de los Reyes (Ang Kapatiran) and former President Joseph Estrada (Pwersa ng Masang Pilipino).

Sen. Richard Gordon (Bagumbayan), Sen. Ana Consuelo “Jamby” Madrigal (Independent), former Defense Secretary Gilbert “Gibo” Teodoro (Lakas-Kampi-CMD), Bro. Eddie Villanueva (Bangon Pilipinas) and Sen. Manuel Villar (Nacionalista Party).

Read More>>

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>