‘Sensing’ defeat in 2010 polls, allies leave Arroyo’s party

Probably sensing that President Gloria Macapagal Arroyo and imminent administration presidential bet Defense Sec. Gilberto Teodoro Jr. would not be potent forces in the 2010 elections, members of ruling party Lakas-Kampi (Kabalikat ng Malayang Pilipino)-CMD started shifting allegiances to rival parties.

According to a political analyst, the move is expected to firm up the presidential bid of Senator Benigno “Noynoy” Aquino III and Senator Manuel Villar Jr. of the Liberal Party and the Nacionalista Party (NP), where Lakas members transferred.

Ramon Casiple, head of the Institute of Political and Electoral Reform, said that administration members did not want to be associated with an unpopular president and an administration bet that is lagging behind in ratings for most preferred presidential aspirants.

Read More>>

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>