Senators to boycott Arroyo’s Sona

MANILA, Philippines—At least four senators have announced they will boycott President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo’s State of the Nation Address (Sona) on July 27.

Francis Pangilinan, Panfilo Lacson, Aquilino Pimentel Jr. and Manuel “Mar” Roxas II said they will skip the Sona even though administration lawmakers have given assurances the occasion would not be converted into a constituent assembly (Con-ass) to amend the Constitution.

Several other senators said they might join the boycott if they sense that Ms Arroyo’s allies in the House are bent on pushing Charter change (Cha-cha) during the annual joint session to hear the President’s report.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>